In a very general sense, a vegetarian is someone who doesn’t eat meat. But that definition is too simple. There are several kinds of vegetarian diets. Lacto-ovo vegetarians eat milk products-such as milk, cheese, and yogurt-and eggs, but no meat, poultry, seafood, or fish. “Lacto” means “milk.” “Ovo” means eggs. Lacto-vegetarians eat milk products, but not eggs, meat, poultry, seafood, or fish. Vegans (say “VEE-guns” or “VAY-guns”) are total vegetarians. They eat only plant foods. They don’t eat food that comes from animals in any way, including milk products, eggs, honey, and gelatin (which comes from bones and other animal tissue).
Why not be flexible? Which diet suits your lifestyle and preferences- explore : Eating Kosher, Gluten Free, Low carb, High protein, Cardiac Care, Mediterranean Diet, how can each type of diet potentially suit your needs.
Listen to Barrie talk about what it means to be a Flexitarian and have a chance to ask questions you might be dealing with over this vast nutritional topic.
Receive exclusive offers, specials and getaway ideas. Click Here »